Skip to main content Skip to footer

G. Henle Verlag String Quartets, Vol. V, Op. 33 (Russian Quartets) Henle Music Folios Series Softcover by Joseph Haydn   

Sku #K22902000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


In Stock & Ready to Ship

This item ships directly from our vendor and may take additional processing time

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Shipping Restrictions

Restrictions Apply

(Find out more)
Add to list
See All G. Henle Verlag Orchestral String Chamber Music Scores & Parts
G. Henle Verlag

Haydn allowed about ten years to pass before composing a new cycle of string quartets after opus 20: the so-called Russian Quartets. This is the first series of quartets that we know he wrote with publication in mind. They are in a completely new and special manner, he wrote in several letters, and he was certainly not just referring to the fact that Scherzi replaced the minuets for the first time. Music lovers particularly appreciate the melodic ideas; thus the rich ornamentation of the main motif of op. 33,3, gave the quartet its nickname Bird Quartet.

review resources