Skip to main content Skip to footer

G. Henle Verlag String Quartet A-flat Major Op. 105 Henle Study Scores Series Softcover Composed by Antonin Dvorak   

Sku #K04732000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


In Stock & Ready to Ship

This item ships directly from our vendor and may take additional processing time

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Shipping Restrictions

Restrictions Apply

(Find out more)
Add to list
See All G. Henle Verlag Study Scores
G. Henle Verlag

Although Dvorák's stay in America (1892-95) was very successful, the composer suffered a good deal from homesickness. He had begun the string quartet in A flat major in New York, but continued with it only after his return to Bohemia in December 1895. There is no trace of the influence of Indian or African-American music in this, his final chamber work; rather, the piece is striking for the amount of cantabile themes and motive, and their contrasting and artistic treatment. It seems that his relief at seeing his children and family again directly influenced the work. Dvorák himself wrote in a letter during its composition that, Almighty God has granted us this cheerful moment, and thus we all feel unutterable happy. This Henle publication is the first Urtext edition of the quartet since 1955.

review resources