Skip to main content Skip to footer

Carl Fischer  The Tibetan Book Of The Dead  

Sku #J41174000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


In Stock & Ready To Ship

Restrictions Apply (Details)

Add to list
See All Carl Fischer Piano/Vocal/Guitar
Carl Fischer

Based on Jean-Claude van Itallie's play after the Buddhist teachings of the same name, The Tibetan Book of The Dead leads us through the stages we experience after death and our transition into the next life. It is at once a ritual, an oratorio in 17 set numbers, a requiem, a warning, and a theatrically-staged wake. The 8 characters include a baritone ("The Reader" leading the journey towards death, enlightenment, or rebirth), a soprano (first as "The Dying" and then as "The Dead") and another soprano, two mezzos, two tenors, and a bass, who play the various energies, demons, temptations, memories, and deities.

  • The Tibetan Book Of The Dead
    The Great Liberation Through Hearing
    Ricky Ian Gordon
    Libretto by Jean-Claude Van Itallie
    Piano Reduction/Vocal Score
    Performing Ensemble: Voice with Piano
    Instrumentation: Voice, Piano
    Item Number: 411-41140
    Number of Pages: 190
    Duration: 1:37:00
    Publisher: Theodore Presser Co

Order today.

review resources