Skip to main content Skip to footer

Carl Fischer Selected Etudes Viola Op.36   

Sku #J57262000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


In Stock & Ready to Ship

Most orders placed before noon ET ship same day (except weekends and holidays)

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Shipping Restrictions

Restrictions Apply

(Find out more)
Add to list
See All Carl Fischer Viola Method Books
Carl Fischer

Jacques Fereol Mazas (1782-1849) was a French composer, conductor, violinist and pedagogue who is best remembered for a set of 75 Etudes melodiques et progressives, Op. 36 published in three parts: Etudes speciales, Etudes brillantes, and Etudes d-artistes. Viola pedagogue and orchestral musician, Lawrence Wheeler, has meticulously edited 33 etudes selected from Book One (Nos. 1-30) and Book Two (Nos. 31-56), chosen for their musical and developmental benefit. Fingerings have been adapted for the viola, and clef changes reflect modern practice. Each etude is appropriate as audition repertoire and includes alternate fingerings and bowings. Teachers and students alike will find in this book a welcome new addition to the teaching repertoire for viola.

  • Performing Ensemble: String Orchestra
  • Instrumentation: Viola
  • Item Number: BF124
  • Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
  • Print Status: In Print
review resources