Skip to main content Skip to footer

BELWIN  Playing on the Changes B-flat Tenor & Soprano Saxophone Book & DVD  

Sku #J27434000000000

FREE SHIPPING on Almost Everything

Price Drop

Was:$24.99 Price Drop:$5.98

$19.01 Special Promotions
  1. Price Drop

In Stock & Ready To Ship

Restrictions Apply (Details)

Add to list
See All BELWIN Jazz/Pop/Rock Instruction

Playing on the Changes features 13 jazz etudes through the various chord qualities found in standards and jazz tunes in all 12 keys. Areas covered include major 7th chords, minor 7th chords, dominant 7th chords (Mixolydian, altered dominant, and half-whole diminished), minor ii (flat-5) chords, tritone substitutions, and a variety of progressions using all of the above. Bob Mintzer has written out etude solos that traverse the changes in a way that familiarizes you with the sound of each harmonic setting. Each etude is modeled after ideas---such as melodic and rhythmic patterns that create continuity---and singable melodies that he recommends using when improvising through the chord changes.

Using the TNT 2 software, listen to and analyze the etudes, and by removing Mintzer's saxophone from the mix, you can then practice and play these harmonic exercises on your own with a stellar rhythm section. The amazing TNT 2 software allows you to slow down the tempo, too!


Playing on the Changes B-flat Tenor & Soprano Saxophone Book & DVD Specifications:

By Bob Mintzer
Item: 00-43721
UPC: 038081499918
ISBN 10: 147062317X
ISBN 13: 9781470623173
Series: Belwin Jazz Play-Along Series
Category: Instrumental Series
Format: Book & DVD
Instrument: Saxophone
Instrumentation: B-flat Tenor Saxophone & Soprano Saxophone
Level: Level 3.5
review resources