Skip to main content Skip to footer

Anglo Music Press Suite from Hymn of the Highlands (Grade 4 - Score Only) Concert Band Level 4 Composed by Philip Sparke   

Sku #J78473000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


Order Now! Expected to Ship 04-06-2020

Order to reserve yours today - No charge until it ships

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Shipping Restrictions

Restrictions Apply

(Find out more)
Add to list
See All Anglo Music Press Concert Band Scores & Parts
Anglo Music Press

The original version of Hymn of the Highlands for brass band comprises seven movements, all named after locations in the Scottish Highlands. It was from this work that the composer created this three-movement suite for concert band 1. Ardross Castle (named for a small village in Easter Ross, just north of the Cromarty Firth) starts with solos from clarinet and bassoon (or euphonium) before a bagpipe-type tune is introduced. A faster central section uses the opening material in a different guise but the movement ends slowly. Alladale (the river Alladale is a tributary of the Carron, which leads out into the Dornoch Firth on the east coast) is a saxophone trio with an accompaniment that features percussion. This leads to the finale, Dundonnell (named after a charming village at the head of Little Loch Broom), which starts in martial mood but soon breaks out into a wild presto. Eventually the bagpipe tune from the first movement returns before the presto crashes to a close. Summer Isles (euphonium solo with concert band - HL44006941) is also available separately and can be added to the suite to form a longer work.

review resources