Skip to main content Skip to footer

 Son of Dave - Music For Cop Shows   

Sku #K89951000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


In Stock & Ready to Ship

This item ships directly from our vendor and may take additional processing time

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Shipping Restrictions

Restrictions Apply

(Find out more)
Platinum Coverage: (What’s This?)
Add to list
See All Alliance Jazz & Blues Vinyl

Release Date:11/10/2017;Notes:Vinyl LP pressing. 2017 release. Son of Dave, the one and only harmonica and beatbox blues maverick is back for another season. Music For Cop Shows is classic S.o.D, loaded with instrumental hooks, original blues flavored songs, irresistible grooves and sly madness. His music has appeared in Breaking Bad, Bloodline, Preacher and other television crime dramas, which seems to have encouraged him to put the cart before the horse and create a loose cannon of ditties harking back to 1970's cop shows. Or not. It's typical Son of Dave messing with you, using ingredients only he can cook with. Fans know it well. It's his eighth album, and he's not made a weak one yet. Recorded in London at Space Eko East Studios with long-time co-producer Alex McGowan the songs build upon S.o.D.'s usual beatbox and bass grooves layering up harmonica riffs just like in the live show. Some tunes go a bit further and S.o.D. plays keys, guitars, and all sorts of percussion. It's all played and sung by the man himself, with "Blues Organ" and "Hey Aye" the only exceptions, being recorded with Son of Dave is fifty years old, and has lived for 21 years in the UK, hailing originally from Winnipeg Canada where he was steeped at a young age in the blues-bar tradition. His resumé is long, having had many other successes along the way. He plans to perform until his 80's at least, pointing out that there is no pension plan for Bluesmen, and the whole live-fast-die-young game is for kids who can't handle their booze, or their managers simply after publicity.;Track List:1. Get a Strut on;2. Daddy Was a Wolf Man;3. Six Weeks;4. Pow Pow;5. Caledonian Street;6. Rattlesnake;7. Blues Organ;8. Mojo Wawa;9. Hey Aye;10. Marching Whistling

review resources