Skip to main content Skip to footer

 Mikael Tariverdiev - Olga Sergeevn (original Score)   

Sku #K48789000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


In Stock & Ready to Ship

This item ships directly from our vendor and may take additional processing time

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Shipping Restrictions

Restrictions Apply

(Find out more)
Platinum Coverage: (What’s This?)
Add to list
See All Alliance Stage & Screen Vinyl

Release Date:11/17/2017;Notes:Deluxe double vinyl LP pressing. Digitally remastered edition. Following the release of the critically acclaimed Film Music box set and Irony Of Fate, Earth Recordings release Mikael Tariverdiev's score of 1975's Olga Sergeevna. Produced by Stephen Coates and Vera Tariverdieva with imagery from Paul Heartfield, the deluxe double vinyl will be made available for the first time outside of Russia. Bringing the composer close to recognition in the west, the magisterial score and improvisations are taken from the Soviet TV Film series Olga Sergeevna which was directed by Aleksandr Proshkin. Based on a story by Edvard Radzinsky, the show featured several film stars with the lead role of Olga played by screen star Tatiana Doronina. Olga is a marine biologist brought from a small town to Moscow by her mentor. As the story unfolds there's a tangled web of professional, romantic and emotional relationships with various men. The main theme of the series is that a woman can dedicate her life to her career and feel satisfied, even when she is not particularly happy in her personal life. In the USSR, and globally, it was a revolutionary concept in the 1970s to set a TV drama around the life of a female scientist. As many critics have noted, his music, like the theme of the TV series, contradicts the lazy prejudice that any popular culture which escaped the Soviet censor could not be ground breaking or the equal of anything being made in the West. The scores improvised baroque jazz inflections were created from improvised pieces lead by Tariverdiev on keyboard, celeste, cimbalon, harpsichord and piano.;Track List:1. Faster Than Sound;2. Movement in Tempo Presto;3. Morning in the Mountains;4. Sun in Rain;5. Memory (Instrumental);6. Olga's Melody;7. Burned Out Nerves;8. Reflection;9. Recollection;10. Movement in E Minor;11. The Solitude of the Boat;12. Harpsichord Rhythm;13. Nocturne;14. Don't Disappear (Instrumental);15. Moscow Morning;16. Childhood;17. Circles on Water;18. Wanderer;19. Aria;20. Longing for Silence;21. Memory (Vocal);22. Appearance;23. Out of Shot;24. Horizon;25. Mariner;26. Cloud Land;27. Vanishing Point;28. Don't Disappear (Vocal)

review resources