Skip to main content Skip to footer

 Matthew Sweet - Altered Beast   

Sku #L43569000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


In Stock & Ready to Ship

This item ships directly from our vendor and may take additional processing time

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Shipping Restrictions

Restrictions Apply

(Find out more)
Platinum Coverage: (What’s This?)
Add to list
See All Alliance World Music Vinyl

Release Date:09/14/2018;Notes:Limited double 180gm vinyl LP pressing in gatefold jacket. Includes bonus tracks. The middle entry in Matthew Sweet's holy '90s power pop trilogy, Altered Beast is a sprawling, multi-dimensional power-pop trip finally presented at it's artistic fullest. Sweet was a songwriting machine in this period, and in doing source research a third analog master reel with 6 extra tracks was discovered. Intervention's expanded edition is a 21-track Beast that shows a master songwriter at his prolific best. While many of these extra tracks were used as b-sides on CD singles and saw release on other compilations, Intervention's expanded edition places these songs in the context they belong, with the album for which they were recorded. Hearing the quality of tracks like 'Superdeformed' one wonders how Altered Beast wasn't originally a double LP! The original 1990's LP crammed all 56 minutes of the original repertoire onto two LP sides, forcing dramatically lower levels, much softer dynamics and less expressive bass. Intervention's cut expands the original repertoire over three vinyl sides, opening up the sound stage and for the very first time presenting this amazing recording will full bass extension and dynamic power! The result is the best-sounding Altered Beast that's ever been or ever will be! This is simply a fabulous-sounding rock recording that's big, bold and super fun to listen to. Altered Beast's album art was lovingly restored by Intervention's Art Director Tom Vadakan, and printed as a gorgeous 'Old Style' gatefold by Stoughton printing in LA. It's printed on heavy stock and film-laminated for superior color depth, beauty and durability. The center labels are printed by Dorado.;Track List:1. Dinosaur Act 04:05;2. Devil with the Green Eyes 04:43;3. The Ugly Truth 03:18;4. Time Capsule 03:56;5. Someone to Pull the Trigger 03:55;6. Knowing People 04:23;7. Life Without You 02:18;8. Intro 00:46;9. Ugly Truth Rock 02:58;10. Do It Again 03:33;11. In Too Deep 03:54;12. Reaching Out 04:00;13. Falling 04:50;14. What Do You Know? 04:27;15. Evergreen 04:23;16. Born in Sin 04:05;17. Ultrasuede 03:56;18. Superdeformed 03:53;19. Speed of Light 05:05;20. Thing 03:17;21. Bovine Connection 01:42;Special Attributes:GATEFOLD LP JACKET, BONUS TRACKS, 180 GRAM VINYL, EXPANDED VERSION

review resources