Skip to main content Skip to footer

 Electric President - Sleep Well [With 7" LP]   

Sku #K77864000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


Order Now! Expected to Ship 02-15-2019

Order to reserve yours today - No charge until it ships

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Restrictions Apply (Details)

Platinum Coverage: (What’s This?)
Add to list
See All Alliance Rock Vinyl D-G

Release Date:06/24/2008;Notes:This is the second album by Electric President (Ben Cooper & Alex Kane), made in the same shed in Jacksonville Beach, Florida as their previous records and in Alex's bedroom. The wind blows the sounds away. It's foggy. Beads of dew glisten on the leaves. Outside, in the small tool shed, the light is still on. The ocean is not far away. Concentration and contemplation: for over 13 months, Electric President recorded what Ben Cooper calls a 'middle of the night record ' his "12 pop songs about dreams and nightmares." Dreams and nightmares is what Sleep Well is about - shadowy and inscrutable atmospheres, the border landscapes of our existence where the fog and the wind passes the sounds over to us. As British as sea-shanties, these songs seem to disappear into echo spirals, when Cooper's voice gradually disappears from the microphone until it nearly sounds ghostly. 'Ether' is an absolute metamorphosis in the tradition of Franz Kafka or Orson Welles - a typical Ben Cooper pop song that is hymnal but never theatrical. 'Monster' forms sounds into a melodic, sparkling landscape, while "Graves And the Infinite Arm" is a dark, melancholy, gothic novel. The wind blows the sounds away. And us with them.;Track List:1. Monsters;2. Bright Mouths;3. We Will Walk Through Walls;4. Graves and the Infinite Arm;5. Adrift in Space or Whatever;6. Ether;7. Robophobia;8. Lullaby;9. It's Like a Heartbeat Only It Isn't;10. All the Bones;11. It's An Ugly Life;12. When It's Black

review resources