Skip to main content Skip to footer

 Abigail Washburn - City of Refuge   

Sku #K76413000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


In Stock & Ready to Ship

This item ships directly from our vendor and may take additional processing time

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Shipping Restrictions

Restrictions Apply

(Find out more)
Platinum Coverage: (What’s This?)
Add to list
See All Alliance Folk & Traditional Vinyl

Release Date:06/07/2011;Notes:In her relatively short career, Abigail Washburn has covered a lot of ground both physically and metaphorically. Bouncing between China and Appalachia has informed much of her musical output and influenced a body of work that goes far beyond the usual claw banjo repertoire. Her Rounder debut, City of Refugee is a sublime marriage of old time and indie pop. On the album Washburn pair venerable folk elements with far-flung sounds, and the results feel both strangely familiar and unlike anybody's ever heard before. The album features My Morning Jacket's Carl Bromel, the Decemberists' Chris Funk, Turtle Island String Quartet's Jeremy Kittell, atmospheric Jazz guitarist Bill Firsell, the Mongolian string band Hanggai, who managed to contribute ambient throat singing from halfway around the world. The album was produced by Tucker Martine (The Decemberists, Tift Merritt, Mudhoney) and features the talents of multi-instrumentalist, singer/songwriter, Kai Welch (Tommy and the Whale). City of Refugee offers and expansive palette of supple and modern textures resulting in a remarkably harmonious piece of art.;Track List:1. Prelude 0:53;2. City of Refuge 3:42;3. Bring Me My Queen 4:14;4. Chains 3:52;5. Ballad of Treason 3:08;6. Last Train 3:56;7. Burn Thru 4:27;8. Corner Girl 3:25;9. Dream of Nectar 5:51;10. Devine Bell 2:39;11. Bright Morning Stars

review resources