Skip to main content Skip to footer

Alfred The Rough Guide to The Velvet Underground (Book)   

Sku #583935000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


Expected to Ship 03-31-2020

Order to reserve yours today - No charge until it ships

This oversized item has special shipping requirements


Shipping Restrictions

Restrictions Apply

(Find out more)
Add to list
See All Alfred Biographies

A coffee table guide to the Velvet Underground that's a great Sunday Morning read.

The Rough Guide to The Velvet Underground explores the Velvet story. The Alfred book documents how Lou Reed, Sterling Morrison, John Cale, and the others emerged from the New York scene, their successes and excesses, and what happened to each in their solo years. Sporting shades and producing feedback-heavy sounds, the Velvets straddled art and rock, changing popular music forever and sowing the seeds for punk, grunge, and thousands of countercultural four-chord wonders.

Part One: Velvet Story: Everybody who was anybody in the Velvet's world, taking in Andy Warhol, Edie Sedgwick, David Bowie, Delmore Schwartz, and Brian Eno.
Part Two: Velvet Music: From their 1967 debut with Nico to their 1993 reunion with all the tales behind the tunes.
Part Three: Velvet Goldmine: The "Underground" on screen, the Velvets' in New York, clubs, influences, covers, websites, and more.

  • Author: Peter Hogan
  • Book length: 304 pages

The Rough Guide to The Velvet Underground (Book) Specifications:

  • ISBN 10: 1843535882
  • ISBN 13: 9781843535881
review resources