Skip to main content Skip to footer

Alfred Mahler Symphony No. 8 in E-Flat Minor Choral Extended Work  

Sku #H69786000000000

45 day price guarantee, 45 day return policy, 100% secure shopping


This 211 page score, size 7 by 10½ inches, provides the choir and soloist parts along with a piano reduction of the orchestral parts, with notations and instrument cues in German, and the vocal text in Latin. Written by Mahler in 1906, this work is sometimes referred to as the "Symphony of 1000" due to the size of the orchestra, vocal soloists, boys chorus, and double choir, along with antiphonal instruments and organ - the number of musicians can easily reach 1000 or more. There are two lengthy movements, the first based on the hymn, "Veni, Creator Spiritus," and the second based on the closing scenes of "Faust."

  • Contributors: Gustav Mahler
  • Series: Kalmus Edition
  • Instrument: Choir
  • Page count: 212
  • ISBN: 0769244823
review resources